0pened in May 2010 the launch of mae’s tea rooms and gallery marks not only the realisation of a long held dream of owners Mark & Emma but also the culmination of a twelve month painstaking restoration project on one of Lakeland’s finest Victorian buildings of its type
with A passion for home cooked quality baking, combined with attention to detail and good old fashioned customer service mae’s aspires to offer the perfect tea room experience.
plans for the future include full landscaping of the grounds and a number of exciting developments such as murder mystery nights, a wider selection of meals and traditional Sunday lunches.
Uldale Old School
First opened in 1895 Uldale Old School has a proud past and some of the original figures involved in the building are commemorated in the name stone above the large front window.
The building closed as a school in the 1990’s but for several years played host to the renowned mike’s eye gallery and jenny wren tea rooms until closure in 2007 with the threat of either full or partial demolition to make way for new developments.
Fortunately this demolition never took place and this building will stand in all its magnificence for future generations to enjoy.
….a little piece of